saliesha

I’ve got the entire wrap up here, but in case you haven’t heard, Saliesha won America’s Next Top Model last night.  (As I predicted.)

I’ve heard rumblings around the web that Cycle 9 was one of the boring to watch.  I disagree.  Here’s why.

The final two contestants were both deserving.  For once.  There wasn’t ONE girl that clearly looked like she should win and ONE that made you stratch your head and think, “Why, Tyra.  WHY?”

No, with this Cycle the final two standing were strong women who didn’t resort to the catty bullshit other contestants were known for.  They didn’t spite each other.  They were confident in their own skin enough to respect the other girl, but at the same compete on an entirely new level. 

cw-antm09-saleisha-container_009408-7c01c1-500x6361.jpg

Saliesha was one of the best natural models I had seen on that show in a long time.  She didn’t seem to need the coaching that other’s did.  And while Jenah took great pictures…

cw-antm09-jenah-container_009413-e2fb95-500x636.jpg

… she also came off arrogant and bitchy with clients.  Remember the Go Sees where the clients said she needed to be more likable?  And that she look unkempt?

So Jenah had personal issues… and you know what?  I can relate to what she said.  I’ve been in the same position of having to “mother” someone when I was a kid.  But you get over it.  You deal with it.

Chantal, on the other hand, almost “had it.”  You know? She took some great shots….

cw-antm09-chantal-container_009412-2311bf-500x636.jpg

I have to say, I went back and forth between loving Chantal and not.  That whole, “I was born to do this” speech of hers was not cool.  But I loved the way she stood up for herself, loved the way she got in Bianca’s face, and loved how classy she handled things at the end.  When it came down to the runway, I knew Saliesha had it.  Chantal looked uncomfortable at times, that wasn’t even when the stilt guy tripped on her gown.

A side note here… was the fashion show totally FAKE?  Doesn’t it seem like the last couple have been fake?  They used to do a live show, didn’t they? 

Anyways… CONGRATS, Saliesha! 

Now we await Cycle 10!